(707) 463-4411

CCW Applications and General Information

Before applying for a concealed carry license, please read through the information offered on this site. It will assist you in the accurate and successful completion of your CCW application.

If you are ready to apply for a new CCW, renew an existing CCW, modify an existing CCW, or request a duplicate license please click here.

Introduction

The Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office is dedicated in providing the residents of Mendocino County with relevant and timely information regarding the services the department offers.

This site is designed to give general information and specifics on requirements regarding the application process for a carry concealed weapon (CCW) license issued by the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office for those citizens who reside within Mendocino County.

Before applying for a concealed carry license, please read through the information offered on this site. It will assist you in the accurate, timely, and successful completion of your CCW application.

The Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office does not recommend individual CCW instructors. It is the responsibility of each applicant to research and evaluate the prospective instructors offered to determine their suitability.

The Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office approved instructor list only consists of individuals and entities who have met the minimum statutory requirements for firearms training and who agree to instruct the minimum concealed weapons course training content pursuant to Penal Code Section 26165. The Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office does not endorse the training styles, methodologies, facilities, or techniques used by instructors to meet the minimum course requirements.

Vendor opinions, advice, statements, services, offers, or other information expressed are not those of the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office, but are those of the respective vendors.

Any compliments or complaints about the CCW vendor course curriculum, conduct, methodologies or other content should be directed to the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office at 951 Low Gap Road, Ukiah, California or by calling 707-964-6308 or by emailing ccw@mendocinosheriff.org.

If you are ready to apply for a new CCW, renew an existing CCW, modify an existing CCW, or request a duplicate license please click here.

 

CCW REQUIREMENTS

Back To Menu

California law requires carry concealed weapon license applicants to satisfy specific criteria prior to being considered for issuance of a license. The requirements are as follows: (26150 PC)

  • Residency:All applicants must provide proof that they are a resident of the County of Mendocino. Non-residents will be referred to the appropriate licensing agency.
  • Training:The applicant must complete and show proof of successful completion from a Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office approved Concealed Carry Course containing modules on safety, the law, and the applicant’s ability to handle a firearm safely. The course shall be a minimum of 16 hours for the initial application, and 8 hours for renewals. The training certificate will be valid for one year.
  • Good Character:Applicants must not be a disqualified person to receive such a license, as determined in accordance with the standards set forth in Penal Code section 26202 .

State and local laws do not prohibit an adult from having a concealed weapon in their home or place of business.

 

*** DISCLAIMER ***
Per the Supreme Court’s ruling in New York Rifle & Pistol Association v. Bruen, requiring an applicant to establish ‘good cause’ to get a carry permit is unconstitutional. To comply with the ruling, we will no longer enforce this requirement or require applicants to demonstrate good cause to qualify for a license to carry a firearm.

 

CCW INITIAL APPLICATION PROCESS

Back To Menu

$302.00

$93.00 paid to the California Department of Justice

$205.00 paid to the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office

$4.00 paid to Permitium

In order to apply for a CCW license, you must: (26150 PC)

  • Be a full-time resident of Mendocino County.
  • Be at least 21 years of age.
  • Completely and accurately fill out a NEW concealed carry weapon license application that will include substantial personal information. Much of the information in the application may be subject to public access under the Public Records Act.
  • Be free of criminal convictions that would disqualify you from carrying a concealed weapon. Fingerprints will be required, and a complete criminal background check will be conducted.
  • No alcohol or drug conviction within five years of application. 26202(a)(7) PC
  • Not be a disqualified person as per 26202 PC
  • Pay all associated application fees. These fees are set by statute and will not be refunded if the application is denied.
  • Any firearm you would like listed on your CCW must be recorded in your name in California.  Please make sure this is taken care of BEFORE you apply for a CCW. (26162 PC)
  • Be free of any medical and psychological conditions that might make you unsuitable for carrying a concealed weapon. Applicant may be required to submit to a psychological assessment (26202(1) PC / 26190(e)(2) PC)
  • Complete a 16-hour department approved Firearms Safety Course.

Applications for a NEW carry concealed weapons license must be completed online at Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office Online Concealed Weapon Permit Application (permitium.com).

When completing your application be prepared to scan and attach a copy of the following documents to your application:

  • Proof of completion of a 16-hour Firearms Safety Course and qualification with all weapons that you intend to place on the CCW license.
  • A color copy of your current California Driver’s License or Identification Card.
  •  A current photograph that is not the photograph on your driver’s license or ID.
  • Two (2) proofs of residency. Accepted Proofs of residency are any one of the following combinations;
  • (2) Utility Bills (PG&E, Water/Sewer, Trash Collection, or Internet/Cable), or
  • (1) Utility Bill and (1) Auto and/or Home Insurance policy declaration, or Voter Registration, or
  • (1) Current rental agreement and (1) Auto/Home Insurance policy declaration, or Voter Registration.

If your application is incomplete, you will be notified and provided direction on what steps must be taken to complete your application. If your application is not corrected within 30-days from the notification, your application will be automatically withdrawn.

 

Note: The Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office requires all applicants applying for an initial CCW license to submit to an interview. You will be prompted during the application process to select an interview date. When selecting your interview date ensure the chosen interview location falls within the area convenient to you (Ukiah, Willits, or Fort Bragg).

CCW RENEWAL APPLICATION PROCESS

Back To Menu

$81.00

$52.00 paid to the California Department of Justice

$25.00 paid to the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office

$4.00 paid to Permitium

In order to renew your CCW license, you must:

  • Be a resident of Mendocino County per 21650 PC.
  • Possess a current CCW license issued by the
    Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office.
  • Complete a department approved 8-hour Updated Firearms Safety Course.
  • Completely and accurately fill-out a RENEW concealed carry weapon license application.
  • Be free of criminal convictions that would disqualify you from carrying a concealed weapon. Fingerprints will be required, and a background check will be conducted. 26150(a)(1) / 26202 PC
  • Be the recorded owner with DOJ of the firearm(s) for which the license will be issued. 26150(a)(5) PC

Applications for a RENEW carry concealed weapons license must be completed online at Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office Online Concealed Weapon Permit Application (permitium.com).

When completing your application be prepared to scan and attach a copy of the following documents to your application:

  • Proof of completion of an 8-hour Updated Firearms Safety Course and qualification with all weapons that you intend to place on the CCW license, buy one of our approved CCW training venders.
  • A color copy of your current California Driver’s License or Identification Card.
  • A current photograph that is not the photograph on your driver’s license or ID.
  • Two (2) proofs of residency. Accepted Proofs of residency are any one of the following combinations;
  • (2) Utility Bills (PG&E, Water/Sewer, Trash Collection, or Internet/Cable), or
  • (1) Utility Bill and (1) Auto and/or Home Insurance policy declaration, or Voter Registration, or
  • (1) Current rental agreement and (1) Auto/Home Insurance policy declaration, or Voter Registration.

If your application is incomplete, you will be notified and provided direction on what steps must be taken to complete your application. If your application is not corrected within 30-days from the notification, your application will be automatically withdrawn.

NOTE: You are required to renew your license every two years. If your license has been expired for more than one year, you will not qualify for the Renewal Process, you will need to complete the Initial Application Process. Do not apply for a renewal license until 90-days or less of the expiration date on your previous/current CCW license.

CCW MODIFICATIONS

Back To Menu

$14.00

$10.00 paid to the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office

$4.00 paid to Permitium

 

In order to make a change to your CCW license you must;

  • Completely and accurately fill-out a MODIFY an existing concealed carry weapon license application.

Applications for a MODIFY an existing carry concealed weapons license must be completed online at Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office Online Concealed Weapon Permit Application (permitium.com).

When completing your application be prepared to scan and attach a copy of the following documents to your application (when applicable):

  • When adding a weapon, proof of completion of training and qualification with the weapon(s) through a department-approved CCW Vendor must be submitted. Verify ALL weapons are listed on the new modification, and the applicant is the recorded owner of the firearm with the DOJ. 26150(a)(5) PC
  •  For a change of address, two (2) proofs of residency must be submitted. Accepted Proofs of residency are any one of the following combinations;
  • (2) Utility Bills (PG&E, Water/Sewer, Trash Collection, or Internet/Cable), or
  • (1) Utility Bill and (1) Auto and/or Home Insurance policy declaration, or Voter Registration, or
  •  (1) Current rental agreement and (1) Auto/Home Insurance policy declaration, or Voter Registration.

NOTE: Your CCW license is only valid for the weapons listed thereon. You have 10 days to notify the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office of any change in your place of residence.

REQUESTING A DUPLICATE LICENSE

Back To Menu

$14.00

$10.00 paid to the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office

$4.00 paid to Permitium

 

In order to request a duplicate of your CCW license you must;

  • Completely and accurately fill-out a REQUEST A DUPLICATE of an existing concealed carry weapon license application.

Applications for a REQUEST A DUPLICATE carry concealed weapons license must be completed online at Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office Online Concealed Weapon Permit Application (permitium.com).

NOTE: An amendment to a concealed carry license does not extend the original expiration date of the license and an application to amend a concealed carry license does not constitute an application for renewal of the license.

TERMS OF LICENSE

Back To Menu

Terms of the License: The licensee agrees to abide by the following terms when carrying a concealed weapon. Failure to do so shall result in the immediate suspension of the CCW license. Any violation of any of the restrictions and conditions may result in the immediate revocation of the license. 26200 PC

  • The license will not be valid outside the state of California. However, some states may recognize a California CCW or do not require a CCW. You are responsible for checking with any law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the area(s) you intend to travel to determine those CCW requirements.
  • The licensee is personally responsible for knowing and complying with the law and any liability they may incur. The Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office will not accept any liability for your actions.
  • The license will be subject to any and all reasonable restrictions or conditions the Sheriff has deemed warranted, including restrictions as to the time, place, manner and circumstances under which the person may carry the concealed firearm.
  • The license shall bear the expiration date, type of weapon, restrictions and other pertinent information clearly visible. Each license shall be numbered and clearly identify the licensee.
  • The license or licensed weapon shall be subjected to inspection at any time by the Sheriff or any law enforcement officer.
  • The CCW firearms shall be registered to the licensee through the DOJ.
  • The license will be valid for a period not to exceed two years from the date of issuance.
  • The licensee shall notify this department in writing within ten days of any change of place of residency. If the licensee moves out of the county of issuance, the license shall expire ninety (90) days after the licensee has moved. The licensee will email ccw@mendocinosheriff.org with any change of residency.
  • Should the licensee display or utilize the concealed weapon for which the permit has been issued, or become named in restraining order, or have ANY other law enforcement contact of any type; the licensee will notify this agency by calling 707-463-4086 and by email at ccw@mendocinosheriff.org within five (5) calendar days from the initial date of the incident and outline the circumstances. The email title must be titled “CCW Incident Reporting”.

License Restrictions: The Sheriff may place special restrictions limiting time, place, and circumstances under which any license shall be valid. These general restrictions prohibit any licensee from doing any of the following: 26200 PC

  • Consuming, and/or being under the influence of any alcohol, any medication or drug while armed.
  • Falsely representing themselves as a peace officer, or taking any law enforcement action in crimes to which they are not directly involved.
  • Unjustified or unreasonable displaying of a weapon or the license.
  • Interfering with any law enforcement officer’s duties, or refusing to surrender their license or concealed weapon for inspection upon demand of any peace officer, or failing to notify any peace officer that they are armed during a law enforcement contact.

Expectations of Conduct: Licensee agrees to conduct themselves in an ethical manner at all times. Licensee must not engage in criminal, dishonest, disgraceful conduct, or any other conduct deemed by the Sheriff to violate the Sheriff’s reasonable expectations of sound judgment and good moral conduct.

APPLICABLE WEAPON LAWS

Back To Menu

All applicants applying for a CCW license and all CCW license holders should be familiar with information found in the following California Penal Code sections.

§171b – Firearm within State or Local Public Building
§171d – Firearm within Governors’ Residence
§171.5 – Firearm within Airport
§171.7 – Firearm within Public Transit Facility
§626.9 – Firearm within “Gun Free Safety Zone Act of 1995”
§25100 – Criminal Storage of Firearm
§25610 – Firearm Transportation
§25850 – Loaded Firearm in Public
§25140 – Firearm in Unattended Vehicle
§25612 – Firearm in Unattended Vehicle
§26200 – Restrictions or Conditions

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Back To Menu

How will I know if my particular circumstances will allow me to obtain a CCW license? 26150 PC / 26202 PC

Each CCW application is unique and is evaluated on its own merits. Individual circumstances play a large role in determining the issuing a CCW license. This decision is ultimately made by the Sheriff’s Office administration.

 

How long is my CCW license valid? 26220 PC

A license is in effect for a period of two, three or four years before it is either void or renewed. For exceptions, contact the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office at 707-964-6308.

 

Is renewing a CCW license automatically done?

No. A person wishing to renew a current CCW license must reapply with the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office.

 

What documentation do I need to provide with my completed application? 26150 PC

An applicant needs to provide a state driver’s license or ID card, or government-issued ID card. In addition, applicants will need to provide proof of completion of a departmentally approved Firearms Safety Course (16-hour for initial applicants and 8-hour for renewal) as well as proof of qualification with all firearms that are intended to be added to the CCW. Proof of successful completion of a training course will only be required after determining the applicant is not disqualified for issuance of the permit has been made. 26202 PC

An individual applicant’s particular situation might necessitate additional documentation depending upon his or her circumstances. The Sheriff’s Office will inform the applicant which additional documents (If any) will be needed after interviewing the applicant. At a minimum, additional documents may include a birth certificate or other proof of lawful alien residency in the U.S., utility bills, and military discharge form (DD 214) if applicable.

I already have a CCW from another state. Do I need to reapply for another one since moving to Mendocino County?

Yes. Your out of state CCW is not valid in the State of California.

 

How old do I have to be before I can apply for a CCW license? 26150(a)(2) PC

An applicant must be at least 21 years old before applying for a CCW license from the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office.

 

Can I carry a concealed firearm out of state?

No. Normally, a CCW License issued by the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office is not valid outside the state of California. However, some states will recognize a California CCW or do not require a CCW. You must check with the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the area(s) you intend to travel to determine if a CCW is necessary.

 

How soon can I take my Firearms Safety Course? 26202 PC

Applicants are only required to pay for a Firearms Safety Course after a determination the applicant is not a disqualified person by the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office. However, applicants may choose to complete a Firearms Safety Course prior to the application process. The Firearms Safety Course Certificate is good for one year from the date of issuance.

MENDOCINO COUNTY SHERIFF APPROVED CCW VENDORS

Back To Menu

[Download PDF]

The Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office will only accept certificates of instruction from instructors that the Sheriff has personally approved.

Duncan Cline

Telephone: 707-272-0936
Email: duncanproshooter@gmail.com
Website:

Kim Milani

Telephone: (707) 272-4656
Email: kim@milaniccw.com
Website: www.milaniccw.com

Edward Davies

Telephone: 707-357-1581
Email: edsguns@mcn.org
Website: www.redwoodpracticalshooters.com

Kenneth Dexter

Telephone: 707-357-1581
Email: edsguns@mcn.org
Website: www.redwoodpracticalshooters.com

John Holder

Telephone: 707-489-3380
Email: bearhunt56@hotmail.com
Website:

Bob Nishiyama

Telephone: 415-519-3647
Email: nish99@prodigy.net
Website:

Ron Prickett

Telephone: 707-485-2481
Email: mendoccw@gmail.com
Website: www.mendoccw.com

Updated April 27, 2023

PROCEDURE TO BECOME AN APPROVED CCW INSTRUCTOR

Back To Menu

Instructors wishing to be added to the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office list of Approved CCW Instructors must submit the following for review by the Sheriff:

  • Must provide a list of all relevant training and copies of certificates that qualify you to be an instructor for CCW classes.
  • Acceptable certification include California POST Firearms Instructor or Rangemaster, BSIS, Authorization from a State of California accredited school to teach a firearm training course.
  • Must include certification for any instructors employed by you.
  • Must provide a color copy of a California Driver License for all instructors.
  • Must provide a copy of your business license.
  •  May provide any letters of reference.
  • Must provide a detailed syllabus of the material you intend to cover for the 16-hour initial CCW and the 8-hour CCW renewal class. The outline must minimally include: 26155 PC
  • Firearm safety and safe storage
  • Firearm handling
  • Shooting techniques
  • Laws regarding the permissible use of a firearm
  • Range safety plan
  • Mental Health and Mental Health Resources (1 hour)
  • Forward the above information by e-mail to ccw@mendocinosheriff.org for review. The email title must be titled “To CCW Licensing Unit”.
  • Following review of your submitted information you will be contacted by a Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office representative. If you have been accepted, you will be scheduled for a DOJ live scan appointment.
  •  Following your DOJ live scan, the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office will provide you with additional documentation and qualification forms and confirm the contact information you want listed on the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office website as an Approved CCW Instructor.
  • Approved instructors will be placed on a two year list. At the end of the two year period the training provider will be required to resubmit the certification packet for review.
  • Approved training providers are subject to review by the Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office at any time.
  • The Department may require approved training providers to submit additional information and materials to verify compliance with minimum standards.
  • Any time the Department determines an approved training provider is out of compliance with minimum standards, the training provider will be removed from the approved list. Training providers who have been removed from the list may reapply.
© 2021 Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office – All Rights Reserved